Manage Your Time (Part 2 of 3) – Relationships

Time

“Surround yourself with people who make you a better person”. 

Everyone has an address book or contact list on their phone.  Mine currently has over 700 names.  How do you keep track of who is important?  I hope you agree with me that your Facebook “friends” aren’t all equally important and that’s it’s sometimes better to pick up the phone and talk or have a meal together.

You can use various contact managers but I like Microsoft Outlook (part of my Office 365 subscription).  Contact management is simply using an app to decide when to contact people and capture what was talked about.  It is a way to prioritize and remember.  A feature I like is the “timeline”; you can see a history of texts and e-mails just by selecting a person’s name.

Here is the basic idea:  I have a friend who has moved out of town.  I simply “flag” his name and give it a due date and it immediately shows up on my to-do list.  When that day arrives, I can choose to e-mail or call or just push it out to another date.  Others, like my siblings and children are permanently flagged.

Keep one list for family, home and work.  Look at the names from time-to-time and edit them; some contacts get deleted, others get acted upon.  We have many life roles and many people who are part of our life including family, friends, and co-workers.  Invest in relationships that you choose as important.  Show them by your actions that they are important.

Leave a Reply

